“The truth is, I spend more time in the kitchen, than the gym, and that’s how I’ve gotten the results I’ve gotten.” -J.Navallo, Orange County. See? It’s what we eat!

This truth changed my perspective. I hadn’t considered how much my intake mattered.

My eyes get wide with admiration when I see these superhuman workouts. I think it’s good to see the 50/50/50, IronCowboy story with James Lawrence. He’s a modern-day endurance hero. It motivates me to think beyond my limitations.

But during lunch time and homework and errands, I probably won’t be thinking about Ironman. I’ll most likely give in to the cinnamon swirls that are easier to eat than the salad I still need to put together.

Jonathan’s words are a reminder that a few minutes of prep and minding what I put IN will make a difference in how I feel and look. It helped me to view workouts from “pushing hard” to “pushing smart.”

I am still in a fuzzy state of routines at this point in my journey. These blog posts are one way that I stay accountable and to be real candid with myself, I’m still sorting through my excuses. I know. Unhelpful. But that is my true state and it will pass.

What is your go-to health food? Mine is spinach. Lentils. Eggs. Okay, and maybe some Cholula. Please feel free to share and include it in your comments!

Blessings,

Mahal

Leave a Reply

