133! Almost there!

The Road to 124 (lbs) has been bumpy and comical. I developed a deeper appreciation for simple, healthy eating, and at the same time, developed a discipline for minding my budget. It’s true when coaches say that working on one discipline will reinforce other disciplines.

But what we can’t measure is the spiritual development of this journey. I can only write about things I’ve eaten, tried, experienced. The real change is what happened to my character and how I discovered who I am and most importantly, how God is really in charge of everything in my life. He cares enough about me to care about my health, reaching my ideal weight range and relieving me of anxieties of weigh-in deadlines, picture-perfect body images and the ongoing inability to keep up.

Romans 12:1-2 reads, “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that ye present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable unto God, which is your reasonable service.And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

Taking on the challenge of shedding this weight wasn’t sacrifice, although it felt painful to pass up cinnamon rolls and a midnight cheeseburger. 🙂 When I started learning that God wants the best for me, that a gradual and permanent loss of excess weight was a path to having me look and feel the way He lovingly intended, then it framed this fat loss experience in a way that had meaning and purpose (and gentleness!), beyond just fitting into a smaller dress size.

I have a few more pounds to lose. Now, I’m more confident that it can get done. I also know that I will go through life seasons where I won’t be able to be a powerhouse exercise freak but that’s okay. I discovered a fitness/ movement baseline so that I know where to start.

I’m thankful that you have also spent time with me on this journey and I’m excited for your own discoveries about your fitness and health. You might be in the early stages of recovery. Or you might be at the powerhouse level. I pray that you can take a moment to see how far you’ve come and enjoy those in-between moments of “almost there.”

Blessings,
Mahal

Leave a Reply

