Jump Ahead – Day 19 – 160 Squats! Is this really all I’m doing?

Ouch! Wheeze! And those are the sounds that means it feels good!

I just pulled myself out of the last set of 35 squats and made the 160.

My second attempt at the 30-day squat challenge hasn’t been exact to the day and number of squats. I needed my rest days sooner. On some days, I could only do half of what was expected.

But I still did SOMETHING. The key for me in this challenge is to stay as consistent as possible and to begin a mild form of self-accountability. I have GOTTEN STRONGER. I did a 50-squat set without stopping or wishing I could just sit down.

I admit that doing squats consecutively can make me mentally check out. This is especially true for dancers who are used to a diverse movement sequence. If I start to zone out, I do knee-raises in between sets, pick up weights or add arm movements without compromising the stance so that the body weight still acts as the resistance.

The good part is that I still get my sets done and I can check off the squat count for that day. Th BEST part is that I have another set that makes me stronger every time.

 

Leave a Reply

