Watching TV makes me eat more – Turn it off!

On any given week night, the downtime is around 5pm. I’ve been up since 530 in the morning and I’ve thrown together a small dinner. Sometimes it’s really just a hodgepodge of side dishes from Trader Joe’s. Don’t judge me!

By this time of the day, I need to stop thinking. I feel like watching an episode of Law and Order to decompress and I need to finish dinner by 7pm to meet my evening deadline for food intake.I just want to sit, eat and watch tv. 

The problem is that watching tv is passive. Every other pediatrician in the country will warn against watching tv during a meal because it causes kids to actually eat MORE. —> And I would be excluded from this danger because…?

Let’s try to leave the tv off during dinner time. Better yet, let’s call it a wrap by 8pm. I noticed that watching tv after dinner will still increase the likelihood that I will snack on something else right before bedtime. 

Did I mention my daughter is on spring break next week? And I’m hoping to shut the tv off by 8pm? Pffft. Okay, Fitness Fam, I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

